Floodplain Management

The City of Huntington has been a member of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) since July 18, 1983.  Since May 1, 2015, the City of Huntington has also participated in the NFIP's Community Rating System (CRS), a voluntary incentive program that recognizes communities that implement floodplain management practices beyond Federal minimum requirements.  The City of Huntington presently maintains a Class 9 CRS rating, allowing flood insurance policy holders to receive an automatic 5% discount on flood insurance premiums.  The Department, through the Director, is the designated Floodplain Administrator & CRS Coordinator and responsible for administration and enforcement of the City's floodplain regulations in accordance with Section 158.049 of the City of Huntington Code of Ordinances. The City's Floodplain Administrator is also a Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM) by the Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM).


The currently effective Flood Insurance Rate Maps for the City of Huntington are dated June 2, 2015.  These maps replace the 1983 Flood Insurance Rate Maps and were developed in by FEMA, in conjunction with the Indiana Department of Natural Resources - Division of Water.  The new and more advanced digital maps use state-of-the-art technology and advanced engineering to increase the quality, reliability, and availability of flood hazard maps and data.  These new maps help to more efficiently and accurately identify flood hazard areas within the City of Huntington. 


One of the primary responsibilities of the Department in the area of floodplain management is the issuance of Floodplain Development Permits for development activities within identified Special Flood Hazard Area.  Most often, the need for these permits is identified by the Department through the process of issuing required building permits.  However, Floodplain Development Permits are also required for non-construction activities within SFHA such as excavation, filling, dredging and mining. 


When construction activities take place in the Special Flood Hazard Area, the Department is required to ensure that new construction and substantial improvement of existing structures is completed in accordance with adopted floodplain standards.  This often includes requiring and reviewing elevation certificates to ensure that new construction and reconstruction are elevated to the required minimum elevations in order to minimize potential flood hazard and damages. 


Floodplain management and its accompanying floodplain regulations are complex.  The information below is intended to provide a brief overview of the topic.  For more detailed information, visit the Quick Links at the bottom of the page.  For information about SFHA or flood zone designation, visit our GIS website and select "Hydrology" then "Flood Zone" from the Layer List or contact the Department. 


The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

The NFIP is a Federal program created by Congress and administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to mitigate future flood losses nationwide through sound, community-enforced building and zoning ordinances and to provide access to affordable, federally backed flood insurance protection for property owners.  The NFIP is designed to provide an insurance alternative to disaster assistance to meet the escalating costs of repairing damage to buildings and their contents caused by floods.


Participation in the NFIP is based on an agreement between the City of Huntington and the Federal Government that requires the City to adopt and enforce a floodplain management ordinance to reduce future flood risks to new construction in Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHA).  In return for the City's participation, the Federal Government makes flood insurance available to City property owners and residents as a financial protection against flood losses.


Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)

FEMA identifies flood hazard areas throughout the United States and its territories.  Most areas of flood hazard are commonly identified on Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM).  One of these areas is the Special Flood Hazard Area.  The SFHA is a high-risk area defined as any land that would be inundated by a flood having a 1-percent chance of occurring in a given year (also referred to as the base flood).  The high-risk-area standard constitutes a reasonable compromise between the need for building restrictions to minimize potential loss of life and property and the economic benefits to be derived from floodplain development.  Development may take place within an SFHA, provided that development complies with local floodplain management ordinances, which must meet the minimum Federal requirements. Flood insurance is required for insurable structures within high-risk areas to protect Federal financial investments and assistance used for acquisition and/or construction purposes within communities participating in the NFIP.


Quick Links

Floodplain Development Permit

Indiana Floodplain Information Portal & eFARA request

Flood Smart (NFIP)

Indiana Department of Natural Resources Division of Water

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Contact Us

Bryn Keplinger, Director of Community Development & Redevelopment
300 Cherry St
Huntington, IN 46750

  • Home: (260) 356-5146
  • Home Fax: (260) 454-5211
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    Monday - Friday
    8:00 am - 4:30 pm
    Closed noon - 1:00 pm

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Information

More Information