Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4)

Public Notice

City of Huntington

The City of Huntington, Indiana (City) intends to discharge storm water into the following watershed names and Hydrologic Unit Codes:

1. Mud Creek-Little River - 051201011103
2. Flint Creek-Little River - 051201011104
3. Town of Andrews- Wabash River - 051201011303
4. Headwaters Clear Creek - 051201011202

And the City is submitting a Notice of Intent letter to notify the Indiana Department of Environmental Management of the City’s intent to comply with the requirements of the MS4 General Permit to discharge stormwater run-off. Questions or comments should be directed to Mr. Adam Cuttriss, Director of Public Works and Engineering Services, 300 Cherry Street, Huntington, Indiana 46750, phone (260) 356-1400 (ext. 2021).

What is MS4?

MS4 stands for Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems.  It refers to a conveyance or system of conveyances that is owned by a state, city, town or other public entity, that discharges to the waters of the U.S. and is designed to collect or convey stormwater (including storm drains, pipes, ditches, etc.). It does not include combined sewers and is not part of a publicly owned treatment works (wastewater treatment plant).

The MS4 Program is an unfunded, federally mandated program that requires municipalities to take measures to reduce pollutants in storm water runoff to improve water quality. The City of Huntington is a Phase II community under this program and is required to comply with the associated rules of the Indiana Administrative Code (327 IAC 15-13).

The MS4 is permitted under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) program through the Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM).  MS4 permits are granted in five-year cycles at the end of which the permit must be renewed.


The City of Huntington must effectively and economically manage and protect its stormwater conveyance system in order to improve stormwater runoff water quality and help protect surrounding waterways.  This is accomplished through the City's Storm Water Quality Management Plan (SWQMP) and the MS4 Program's six (6) minimum control measures (MCMs):

  • MCM 1: Public Education and Outreach
  • MCM 2: Public Involvement and Participation
  • MCM 3: Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  • MCM 4: Construction Site Runoff Control
  • MCM 5: Post-Construction Storm Water Management
  • MCM 6: Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping at Municipal Operations

To learn more, please visit the links below:



For additional information about the EPA Stormwater and MS4 Programs, please visit: